This is the text only HTML accessible version of the PDF document selected.

View Original PDF
Go Back or Close

N EN The 9- 1 -1 Association 1700 Diagonal Road I Suite 500 I Alexandria, VA 22314 Ms. Marlene H. Dortch, Secretary Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street SW Washington, D.C. 20554 March 19th, 2015 In re 911 Governance and Accountability; Improving 911 Reliability; PS Docket Nos. 14-193 & 13-75. Dear Ms. Dortch: On March 19th, 2015, the following representatives from industry and public safety associations, along with one government agency, made a permitted ex parte presentation to David Furth, Eric Schmidt, Erica Olsen, and Tim May of the Commission's Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau, in which we discussed the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in the above-referenced dockets. The following industry, public safety, and government rep-resentatives attended: Craig Donaldson, iCERT; Anthony Jones, LISTelecom; Kim Robert Scovill, iCERT; Jeff Cohen, APCO; Trey Forgety, NENA; Brian Fontes, NENA; Alex Kreilein, DHS/OEC; Roger Hixson, NENA; and Evelyn Bailey, NASNA. At the meeting, certain industry and public safety representatives outlined their under-standings of the Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau's proposals for addressing 911 governance and accountability, and discussed avenues by which the public and private sector representatives might develop alternative consensus approaches and practices. In par-ticular, certain representatives emphasized the success of the previous Text-to-9-1-1 and Wireless E9-1-1 Location Accuracy agreements, and outlined their views that both industry and public safety standards bodies, along with the Commission's Communications Security, Reliability, and Interoperability Council (CSRIC) could play vital roles in ensuring the reli-ability of 9-1-1 service through the development of voluntary consensus standards and best practices, respectively. Sincerely, Telford E. For A " rt , ; "Trey Director of Government Affairs &Regulatory Counsel CC: David Furth, PSHSB Timothy May, PSHSB Erica Olsen, PSHSB Eric Schmidt, PSHSB National Emergency Number Association I 202-466-4911 I FAX 202-618-6370 I vAvw.nena.o